Notices placed on one or more cars regarding parking

Under the Parking Proposals thread there has been some recent comment about unsigned, unattributed anonymous notices being placed on cars – which were reported as stating:

“Warning
Your vehicle is illegally parked on private property
This notice is a courtesy reminder
Future violalations will result in your vehicle being immobilised.”

Some folk have asked whether these notices were placed by the OCA.

For the record I can confirm that no member of the OCA Committee has placed such a notice and that if any member did something like this then such a notice would not be anonymous!

As previously noted members of the committee have actively engaged and talked with drivers whom they believed were parking inconsiderately and asked them to bear in mind the needs of other residents when deciding where to park.

I trust that is clarifies this particular question.

Nick Lightbody

OCA Chair

2 thoughts on “Notices placed on one or more cars regarding parking

  1. Andee

    I am a former Housing Association Resident, number 52, and I would like to point out, that before I moved into the area, I checked I would have parking, and there would be a safe place for my children to play, I was assured of both of these, neither was true, I was told my parking space, would be in the car park to the rear of my flat. As I didnt have a car at the time, I allowed my friends to use the space. It then later transpired, that I didnt have a space, and that the residents from the housing next to me, had 2 spaces each. Mine was the only FOG (flat over garage) without a space, or in fact the whole estate. Nick, I appreciate the work and effort you put into the OCA, but I cant help but feel, that you will never achieve a happy enviroment, where everyone agrees. In my near 3 years on the estate, I have never received as much predujice, or had as many arguements with people. Where I live now, my son has a huge field where he is safe, and plays without being shouted at from residents. I have never been so pleased to leave an area. I hope you are able to bring some peace and harmony to Orchard Close, but it seems this will take a long time to achieve. I wish you well.

    Reply
    1. orchardclose Post author

      Hi Andee
      Thanks for your comments and I am sure we all appreciate your good wishes.
      Delighted that you have made a good move and that your son now has a better play area.
      I think it is true that Orchard Close is currently not very keen on playing children, something that personally I couldn’t see the problem with, but I think I am in the minority on that one. However, as the number of households having children increases that may change – we will see.
      All the the OCA Committee is trying to do is to establish a consensus on which we can act and hence that is what we aim to do on Friday evening.
      It is very good that the draft proposal we floated has caused an active debate although I do think that sometimes not everyone reads what we published very carefully – the discussion has enabled us to go to the meeting on Friday with a good idea of the options likely to receive support.
      Best regards, Nick

      Reply

Leave a comment